Dish of the Week: Teriyaki Corpse Prawns

Ingredients:

  • Prawns
  • Corpse
  • Seasoned flour

  • Method:

  • Select spot near Freo traffic bridge for prawn gathering night dive.
  • Discover corpse in 10 metres of water while gathering prawns.
  • Gag, swim the hell away.
  • Notify Water Police.
  • Shell prawns.
  • Toss prawns in seasoned flour, batter and deep fry.
  • Check news for updates on whose body it was.
  • Consider Police Chaplain’s offer of PTSD counseling.
  • Thanks to scuba adventurer MikeyD for this innovative dish

    6 Responses to Dish of the Week: Teriyaki Corpse Prawns

    1. sharin iscarin says:

      ew, not sure i want to try this one
      mikeyd must be on the most wanted list of the michelin “where not to get yr recipes from” list – mind u the photos lookokidoki – perhaps the proof is in the pudding, not the thought of the pudding …. still, ew is what comes to mind………… in fact, ew, ew, ew,ew, and more ew …….

    2. N.I.C.K says:

      …does it always have to come back to prawnography, Wilster?

    3. Cookster says:

      Good lord… I remember that story and thinking that the water police were a bit slack when the ABC reporter on the scene at 7.30am was saying, ‘they expect to resume searching in the next hour’. Mind you, it was bloody cold.

    4. Mr anon says:

      A bloke’s wife goes missing while diving off the West Australian coast.

      He reports the event, searches fruitlessly and spends a terrible night

      wondering what could have happened to her.

      Next morning there’s a knock at the door and he is confronted by a couple

      of policemen, the old Sarge and a younger Constable.

      The Sarge says, ‘Mate, we have some news for you, unfortunately some

      really bad news, but, some good news, and maybe some more good news’.

      ‘Well,’ says the bloke, ‘I guess I’d better have the bad news first?’

      The Sarge says, ‘I’m really sorry mate, but your wife is dead. Young Bill

      here found her lying at about five fathoms in a little cleft in the reef.

      He got a line around her and we pulled her up, but she was dead.’

      The bloke is naturally pretty distressed to hear of this and has a bit of

      a turn. But after a few minutes he pulls himself together and asks what

      the good news is.

      The Sarge says, ‘Well when we got your wife up there were quite a few

      really good sized crays and a swag of nice crabs attached to her, so we’ve

      brought you your share.’

      He hands the bloke a sugar bag with a couple of nice crays and four or

      five crabs in it.

      ‘Geez thanks. They’re bloody beauties. I guess it’s an ill wind and all

      that… So what’s the other possible good news?

      ‘Well’, the Sarge says, ‘if you fancy a quick trip, me and young Bill here

      get off duty at around 11 o’clock and we’re gonna shoot over there and

      pull her up again!

    5. Mikey Fuckin' Dee says:

      It’s taken me a long time to come round to this … …. This gag is straight from the Graham
      Kennedy Show circa 1975… … There was no gagging
      or even panicking the man was 3 or 4 days dead and,surprisingly to me,was stuck to the river bed as
      though weighed down.To my current shame I decided that
      night after swimming round him a couple of times to
      leave him there and tell no one.
      The next day I realised I had to report it so.I spoke
      to a gentleman called Joel from Water Police who was
      very helpful and encouraging and called me back that
      afternoon to tell me that they had recovered the
      body.I had an immediate reaction to the incident.I felt disengaged and cheated.On one hand I had been
      able to help the police with an ongoing enquiry on
      the other I had lost an important part of my life
      … …. maybe. Since that night I’ve dived many times at the same place and come to see the experience in perspective I hope you can too.

    6. Antonia says:

      It's taken me a long time to come round to this … …. This gag is straight from the Graham
      Kennedy Show circa 1975… … There was no gagging
      or even panicking the man was 3 or 4 days dead and,surprisingly to me,was stuck to the river bed as
      though weighed down.To my current shame I decided that
      night after swimming round him a couple of times to
      leave him there and tell no one.
      The next day I realised I had to report it so.I spoke
      to a gentleman called Joel from Water Police wyo was
      very helpful and encouraging and called me back that
      afternoon to 5ell me that they had recovered the
      body.I had an immediate reaction to the incident.I felt disengaged and cheated.On one hand I had been
      able to help the police with an ongoing enquiry on
      the other I had lost an important part of my life
      … …. maybe. Since that night I've dived many times at the same place and come to see the experience in perspective I hope you can too.;

    Leave a Reply

